News - 03/4/2013

MiraCosta College Basketball Team Clinches Conference Championship

Men's Basketball Team Picture 2012-13

On Friday night, February 22, the MiraCosta College men’s basketball team clinched their first conference championship in fifteen years with a 70-53 win over San Diego City College. Their last championship was when head coach Pat Conahan was a freshman playing for Coach Emeritus Clete Adelman, who coached at MiraCosta for 27 years. The Spartans marched on to the state playoffs with a 19-9 record and their Pacific Coast Athletic Conference championship. MiraCosta ranks 8th seed in the south and opened the state tournament on Friday at home against 9th seed East LA.

The men’s basketball team received five all-conference honors. Baptiste Boucharel and Declan Daly were voted on the first team. Dominique Moreno and Bryce Lenhart were voted on the second team and Lawrence Chamberlain was an honorable mention.
MiraCosta’s roster has five sophomores: Baptiste Boucharel, Dominique Moreno, Andre Warren, Mike Franciscus, and Terence Lipps; and nine freshmen: Declan Daly, Bryce Lenhart, Lawrence Chamberlain, Marcus Hall, Fareed Ahmed, Thaddeus Gray, Travon Tucker, Garrett Brown and Austin Hershberger.
The women’s basketball has three all-conference honors. Angelina Hix and Megan Fennessy were both selected to the PCAC all-conference team and Savannah Summers was voted as an honorable mention.

For more information, contact Head Coach Pat Conahan at

Bookmark and Share