Child Development 113: Child and Adolescent Growth and Development

Instructor: Sheri Schonleber

Approved Service Learning Organizations

Please note: All public schools with the San Diego County of Education are approved for service learning.

Bethlehem Community Early Childhood Center
Contact Person: Gail Winterbourne (bcpresch@blcenc.org)
Contact Phone: (760) 753-2471
Address: 925 Balour Drive Encinitas CA 92024
Volunteer Needs: Assist teacher in classroom with child development activities. *TB test is required, background check and fingerprinting if volunteering more than 10 hours per week.

Buena Vista Pre-Kindergarten Program
Contact Person: Debbie Basom
Contact Phone: 760-331-5073
Address: 1330 Buena Vista Way Carlsbad CA 92008
Volunteer Needs: Assist in special needs preschool class.Mon- Thurs 8:00-11:00 and 12:00-3:00. Opportunity to work with speech therapist, adaptive PE teacher, and OT.*TB test required

Children's Atelier Center
Contact Person: Lenika Lopez (encinitasstaff@yahoo.com)
Contact Phone: (760) 942-3240
Address: 1508 Windson Road Cardiff CA 92007
Volunteer Needs: Plan and implement appropriate age activities for children. Introduce vocabulary words and engage in conversations with children. Music and movement activities, songs and games. Work with teachers and make materials for children. Fifteen hour week commitment required, TB test needed. Monday-Friday 8:00-4:30.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School
Contact Person: Tracy Polivka (tpolivka@dmusd.org)
Contact Phone: (858) 755-9367 x3323
Address: 13555 Boquita Dr. Del Mar CA 92014
Volunteer Needs: Tutoring, classroom assistance, physical education activities, help with school garden and many more activities. Minimum of one hour per week. *TB test required

Del Rio Elementary - Preschool Program
Contact Person: Janis Jones (Janis.Jones@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-7300
Address: 5207 E. Parker Oceanside CA 92057
Volunteer Needs: Assist in preschool program.

First Presbyterian Preschool
Contact Person: Julie Faumuina (jfaumuina@fpcoceanside.org)
Contact Phone: (760) 757-5120
Address: 2001 El Camino Real Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Volunteering in a preschool classroom under the direct supervision of teachers.*TB clearance required. Hours are Monday-Friday 7:00-5:30.

Foussat Elementary School
Contact Person: Linda Adelman (linda.adelman@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 721-2200
Address: 3800 Pala Road Oceanside CA 92058
Volunteer Needs: Foussat is a large school and there will be opportunities to volunteer in grades kindergarten through 5th grade. Volunteers can assist the classroom teacher in a variety of activities; this could include language arts, physical education, math, science or social studies.

Garrison Elementary School
Contact Person: Martina Boeck (martina.boeck@oside.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-7600
Address: 333 Garrison St. Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Garrison Elementary is a school for the Visual and Performing Arts. Volunteers are needed to assist teachers with classroom activities for kids in preschool-5th grade.

Garrison State Preschool
Contact Person: Nellie Maya (nellie.maya@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone:
Address: 333 Garrison Street Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: State funded program that requires an 8-1 ratio, this preschool is located at Garrison Elementary School in Oceanside. Volunteers are needed to assist teacher in a preschool environment. A current T.B. clearance is required. A.M class is from 8:15-11:15 and P.M. Class is from 12:15 -3:15.

Ivey Ranch Elementary School
Contact Person: Donna Purcell (dpurcell@oside.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 967-9720
Address: 4275 Via Rancho RD Oceanside CA 92057
Volunteer Needs: Volunteers will work assisting classroom teacher with individuals or a small groups of students in a classroom setting. Help students succeed in reading or math activities. Easy, enjoyable, meaningful work, great experience for aspiring teachers. TB test is required.

La Costa Heights Elementary School
Contact Person: Lillian Volkening (lil.volkening@eusd.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 944-4375
Address: 3035 Levante ST Carlsbad CA 92009
Volunteer Needs: Projects include: kinder play time at recess, small group reading activities, 6th grade leadership team. Call to schedule, sign in and wear visitors badge.

La Costa Heights Elementary School
Contact Person: Lillian Volkening (lil.volkening@eusd.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 944-4375
Address: 3035 Levante ST Carlsbad CA 92009
Volunteer Needs: Projects include: kinder play time at recess, small group reading activities, 6th grade leadership team. Call to schedule, sign in and wear visitors badge.

Libby Elementary - Preschool Program
Contact Person: Liliana Gonzalez (liliana.gonzalez@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-7000
Address: 423 W. Redondo Dr. Oceanside CA 92057
Volunteer Needs: Preschool assistance.

MAAC Project Head Start Oceanside II
Contact Person: Pam Peyton (ppeyton@maacproject.org)
Contact Phone: (760) 941-7616
Address: 2322 Catalina Cr. Oceanside CA 92057
Volunteer Needs: Assist lead teacher, co-teacher and director to implement the curriculum through educational play and age appropriate interaction with children ages 3-5. Monday-Friday 7:30-5:00. *After 16 volunteer hours, TB test is required.


MAAC Project Head Start Vista 1
Contact Person: Marlo Dinkins (mdinkins@maacproject.org)
Contact Phone: (760) 726-4272
Address: 739 Olive Avenue Vista CA 92083
Volunteer Needs: Assist Lead Teacher, Co-teacher and Director to implement the curriculum through educational play and age appropriate interaction with the children in the program. After 16 hrs. TB test and fingerprints are required. Hours: Mon.-Fri. 7:30-5:00


MAAC Project Head Start, Old Grove
Contact Person: Karen Case (kcase@maacproject.org)
Contact Phone: (760) 433-7589
Address: 235 Via Pelicano Oceanside CA 92057
Volunteer Needs: Volunteer will assist in the classroom under the direction of the Lead Teacher. College students will interact with preschool children with indoor and outdoor activities. The program serves children from low income families and children with disabilities. All volunteers must complete an application, bring proof of TB clearance, and have fingerprinting and background check is required, paid for by the MAAC Project.

Madison Middle School
Contact Person: April Diaz or Kathleen Renshaw (renshaw@madisonmustangs.com, diaz@madisonmustangs.com)
Contact Phone: (760) 940-0176
Address: 4930 Lake Blvd. Oceanside CA 92056
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers with before school program (7:30-8:40am) and after school program (3:30-4:40). Monday-Thursday. Reading volunteers are needed for strategic reading classes. Volunteers can help between 8:55-11:28 and also from 1:10-3:33. For the reading program contact April Diaz for the after school program contact Kathleen Renshaw.

MiraCosta Child Development Center
Contact Person: Sheri Shonleber (sshonleber@miracosta.edu)
Contact Phone: (760) 795-6862
Address: MS 16 Oceanside CA
Volunteer Needs: Assisting with children's activities. *TB test is required.

Mission CDC, Quality Children's Services
Contact Person: Doris Roldan or Gabriella Romero (missioncdc@aol.com)
Contact Phone: (760) 967-1370
Address: 3870 Mission Avenue D6 Oceanside CA 92058
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers in the classroom and on the playground in a Montessori environment. TB test required and volunteers must bring identification. The center is open 6:30-5:00.

Mission Elementary - Preschool Program
Contact Person: Gloria Martinez (gmartinez@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 966-8700
Address: 2100 Mission Ave. Oceanside CA 92058
Volunteer Needs: Preschool assistance. This school is temporarily stationed at 4991 Macario Dr., Oceanside, CA 92057.

Mission Elementary School
Contact Person: Andy Domingo (adomingo@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 966-8700
Address: 2100 Mission Avenue Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Classroom assistance. *TB test required. This school is temporarily stationed at 4991 Macario Dr., Oceanside, CA 92057.

Noah's Ark Learning Center
Contact Person: Peggy Hughes (noahsarkvista@aol.com)
Contact Phone: (760) 724-5445
Address: 1410 Foothill DR Vista CA 92084
Volunteer Needs: Help teachers supervise children 12 months to 6 years. TB test required (within last two years). Monday-Friday 6:00am-6:00pm.

North Terrace Elementary - Preschool Program
Contact Person: Vicki Gravlin (vicki.gravlin@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-7500
Address: 940 Capistrano Dr. Oceanside CA 92058
Volunteer Needs: Preschool assistance

North Terrace Elementary School
Contact Person: Betsy Wilcox (bwilcox@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-7500
Address: 940 Capistrano Dr. Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Tutoring, after school program, and assisting with preschool, working w/small groups k-5 math, reading. *TB test & 3-4 hrs/wk required.

Nutrition Education, Vista Unified School District
Contact Person: Amy Haessly (amyhaessly@vusd.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 726-2170 x2912
Address: 4680 North Ave. Oceanside CA 92056
Volunteer Needs: Support nutrition education efforts in grades K-12 with a variety of activities such as teaching classroom lessons, conducting student taste tests of new foods, helping in school gardens, guiding student nutrition groups, and more!

Oak Crest Middle School
Contact Person: Debra Cruse (debra.cruse@sduhsd.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 753-6241 x3413
Address: 675 Balour DR Encinitas CA 92024
Volunteer Needs: Classroom assistance is needed during the day Mon-Fri 7:35-2:15. Math tutors are also needed for after school tutoring. If interested, first contact classified personnel office at (760) 753-6491, students must pay for their own fingerprinting costs.

Oceanside Adventist Elementary School
Contact Person: Julia Payaban (julia_payaban@cox.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 722-6894
Address: 1943 California Street Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Students are needed to serve as classroom assistants and playground supervisors. Help is also needed with secretarial support. Monday- Friday 7:30-4:00. *TB test required. Students interested in assisting with PE class are encouraged to volunteer.

Olive Elementary School
Contact Person: Susie Rivas-Hagler (srivas@vusd.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 724-7129
Address: 836 Olive Avenue Vista CA 92083
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers in K-5 classes during school hours or during the after school tutorial program. Volunteers can also help with the garden club that meets after school on Fridays. TB test and volunteer application required. Students must also commit to one hour per week. For a schedule of time slots available, please contact the Service Learning Office.

Palmquist Elementary School
Contact Person: Charlene West (charlene.west@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 901-8500
Address: 1125 S. Ditmar St (Temporary Address) Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Students are needed to assist with Best Foot Program, a literacy program. Interview kindergarten and first grade students & ask them questions about what they have read. *1 hr./wk. required. Mon.. Tues. Thurs. & Fri.. 8:00-3:00 and Wed. 8:00-12:30

Paul Ecke Elementary School
Contact Person: Joan Whitley (joan.whitley@eusd.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 944-4323
Address: 185 Union Street Encinitas CA 92024
Volunteer Needs: Work side by side with teachers to make classroom observations, work with small groups of students, and do one to one tutoring. The best way to contact Joan Whitley is via email.

Pilgrim Children's Center
Contact Person: Anne Lewis (pilgrimchildctr@sbcglobal.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 729-4464
Address: 2020 Chesnut Ave. Carlsbad CA 92008
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers with classroom activities for children ages 2-5 years of age.

Poinsettia Elementary School
Contact Person: Silvia Clary (sclary@carlsbadusd.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 331-6500
Address: 2445 Mica Rd. Carlsbad CA 92009
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers in K-5th grade classrooms, duties include making copies, helping students, grading, helping with art, music, science, and other small group instruction. Students can also help create/implement educational games, activities, etc. Bilingual students can provide translation help in the classroom. Hours are Mon., Tues., Wed., & Fri. from8:15-2:30 and Thursdays from 8:15-1:15. Must complete a volunteer application (available in the Poinsettia office) and obtain a TB test.

San Dieguito High School Academy
Contact Person: Bea Palmer (bpalmer@miracosta.edu)
Contact Phone: (760) 753795-6616
Address: 800 Santa Fe Drive Encinitas CA 92024
Volunteer Needs: Tutoring English to high school students. English language learner class meets period 3, Mon.-Fri. 12:00-1:30, but any assistance is welcome. College students are also needed to mentor "at promise" high school students (meeting with them once a week to check up on them, in a Big Sister/ Brother role). The students are protracted language learners, i.e. students who are verbally fluent in English, although their dominant home language is Spanish. Students must first contact the Service Learning Office for additional information and paperwork.

Santa Margarita Elementary School
Contact Person: Donna Wilkins (dwilkins@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 430-7110
Address: 1 Carnes Road Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Listening to students read, tutoring in reading, writing, and math. Hours-M,T,Th,F 8:15am-2:55pm & W 8:15am-1:05pm. *TB Test required.

South Oceanside Elementary School
Contact Person: Heather Hurley (heather.hurley@oside.k12.ca.us)
Contact Phone: (760) 435-2100
Address: 1806 S. Horne Street Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: Assist teachers with individual students or small groups of students, grades kindergarten through fifth grade. *TB test required, appropriate attire, and a minimum of 10 hours per semester. Hours are Mon-Tues and Thurs.-Fri. 9:00-3:30 and Wed. 9:00-1:00.

St. Mary's Star of the Sea School
Website: http://www.stmarystars.org
Contact Person: Debbie Shapiro (debdirect2@hotmail.com)
Contact Phone: (760) 722-7475
Address: 515 Wisconsin Avenue Oceanside CA 92054
Volunteer Needs: In the preschool setting volunteers will assist teachers in preparing classroom environments, implementing curriculum plans, and working with children constructively while they play. In the kindergarten setting, volunteers will work one-on-one with students who are in need of special attention during class time, with an emphasis in fine motor skills and early pre-math and reading. In physical education, volunteers can assist PE coaches in setting up and implementing curriculum for K-8th grade students. Hours vary by day and grade setting. All volunteers must present proof of current TB (not older than 4 years) and must obtain a background and fingerprinting check, processed through "Choice Point" and paid by St. Mary Star of Sea.

Temple Solel Early Childhood Center
Website: http://www.templesolel.net/index.php?submenu=AboutUs&src=directory&view=interiorpages&srctype=detail
Contact Person: Cathy Goldberg (cgoldberg@templesolel.net)
Contact Phone: (760) 944-1285
Address: 3575 Manchester Ave. Cardiff by the Sea CA 92007
Volunteer Needs: Activities include: classroom assistance, designing developmentally appropriate learning activities, interacting with young children, and working with teaching team. Monday-Friday 9:00am-3:00pm. *TB test required.